CcPublisher: When upstream says “don’t package our software”

A month ago Marcela Tiznado let me take over the CcPublisher ITP. I checked the upstream tarball for installation instructions, and saw something like “gunzip and run for the source directory”.

I’ve contacted Nathan Yergler (= upstream) to find out how does he think the program should be installed. The reply I got included this “I actually would encourage you not to package for Debian at this point.” Nathan also said that the details for installation where never worked on.

As the last CcPublisher version was released a year ago, I don’t see any point to package it right now, especially when upstream don’t think it the right time. I hope that they will find some time to make their software ready for distributions.

Leave a comment

Filed under Creative Commons, Debian GNU/Linux

Leave a Reply

