Debian Installer git repository

While dealing with d-i’s translation last month in FOSScamp, I was kinda surprised it’s still on SVN. While reviewing PO files from others, I couldn’t select specific parts to commit.

Debian does have a git server, and many DDs (Debian Developers) use it for their Debian work, but it’s not as public as I wish it to be. Meaning I lack the pull / merge request abilities as well as the review process.

Recently I got a reminder that the D-I’s Hebrew translation needs some love. I asked my local community for help. Receiving a PO file by mail, reminded me of the SVN annoyance. So this time I decided to convert it to git and ask people to send me pull requests. Another benefit would be making the process more transparent as others could see these PRs (and hopefully comment if needed).

For this experiment, I opened a repository on GitHub at https://github.com/kaplanlior/debian-installer I know they aren’t open source as GitLab, but they are a popular choice which is a good start for my experiment. If and when it succeeds, we can discuss the platform.

debian-9

Debian 9

(featured image by Jonathan Carter)

 

3 Comments

Filed under Debian GNU/Linux

3 responses to “Debian Installer git repository

  1. Hey Lior, I think the featured image went missing since I can’t see it, but I’m curious to see what it is/was 🙂

  2. And the first PR got merged and pushed back to SVN. Thanks Edward Betts.

    https://github.com/kaplanlior/debian-installer/pull/2

Leave a comment